Johnson wins second Hudson/Weinstein Invitational title


Four years after winning his first Travis Hudson/Bernard Weinstein Invitational, Garrett Johnson again topped the field, claiming his second tournament championship at Musgrove Country Club on Sunday.

He shot a three-under par 68 in the final round for a three-day total of 198.

Johnson, a Kimberly native who recently completed his senior golf season at Mississippi State, led by one stroke going into Sunday’s final round.

He finished three strokes ahead of both Trussville’s Paul Murphy, who played collegiately at Montevallo, and Birmingham’s Clay Guerin.

Birmingham’s Garrett Burgess finished alone in fourth place at 203 while Cullman’s Ike Alexander, Helena’s Blair Hamm, Hoover’s Ethan Hagood and Tuscaloosa’s Matthew Madden tied for fifth at 205. Birmingham’s Sam Jeffcoat, the 2018 tournament champion, placed ninth at 208, and Birmingham’s John Raccitti Jr., rounded out the top 10 at 209.

Johnson and Murphy were the only golfers to shoot in the 60s in all three rounds. Johnson’s rounds of 66-64-68 left him at 15-under par, one stroke ahead of his tournament-winning score in 2016. Murphy, the first-round leader, had rounds of 65-68-68 to finish at 12-under par.

Other flight winners were: Smith Station’s Trevor Poole with a 212 total in the Championship B flight, Muscle Shoals’ Brent Bishop (221) in the Championship C flight, Calera’s Chad Edgil (225) in the Championship D flight, Jasper’s Oliver Wright (237) in the Championship E flight, Carbon Hill’s Jeff Burrough (217) in the first flight, Jasper’s Goober Williams (243) in the second flight and Decatur’s Harry Kirkland (211) in the gold/combo flight.

The complete list of scores can be found here: