Election just two days away
by Rachel Davis
Jun 01, 2014 | 2623 views | 0 0 comments | 40 40 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The primary election will be held Tuesday, choosing Republican candidates for each of two county positions up for election this fall and to choose a winner for the two Alabama House of Representatives seats in this area.

For Walker County Sheriff, Republicans will be choosing from a field of seven candidates to face Democrat Mike Cole in November. Republicans will vote for either Allen Estell, Adam Hadder, Steve Miller, Larry Odom, J.C. Poe, Ronald Raines or James “Jim” Underwood.

Because of the large number of candidates vying for the Republican position on the ballot, a runoff is likely. If no single candidate receives more than 50 percent of the votes, the top two candidates will face off again in a runoff on July 15 to decide who the Republican candidate will be.

In the race for Walker County Coroner, voters can choose either Mark Pendley or Joey Vick. The winner of that election will face Democrat Jeff Nelson in the Fall.

The two Alabama House of Representatives races will be decided by the primary election, since no Democrats qualified for the races.

In District 13, challenger Connie Cooner Rowe will face incumbent Bill Roberts for the Republican nomination.

In District 14, incumbent Richard Baughn will be up against challenger Tim Wadsworth for the seat.

Other positions up for election this time were unopposed, such as Walker County Superintendent Jason Adkins, Board of Education Chairman Brad Ingle, Walker County District Judge Henry Allred, and Alabama Sen. Greg Reed. Those candidates were the only ones from either party to qualify for their respective seats.

There will also be primary choices for governor, Republicans can choose between Robert Bentley, Stacy Lee George and Bob Starkey.

The governor’s race is the only office to appear on the Democratic primary ballot in Walker County, giving voters the choice of Kevin Bass and Parker Griffith.

For Lt. Governor, Republican candidates Kay Ivey and Walker County native Stan Cooke will vy for the opportunity to face Democrat James C. Fields Jr. on Nov. 4.

Secretary of State candidates Reese McKinney, John Merrill and Jim Perdue will be seeking the Republican nomination to face Democrat Lula Albert-Kaigler in the Fall.

Dale Peterson, Hobbie L. Sealy, Adam Thompson and Jim Zeigler will compete for the Republican nomination for State Auditor. The winner of the primary will face Miranda Karrine Joseph in November.

Republicans will also chose a new person for Public Service Commission, Place 1 and Place 2.

For Place 1, the choices will be Jeremy H. Oden or Kathy Peterson and Place 2 will be Jonathan Barbee, Chris “Chip” Beeker Jr., Phillip Brown or Terry Dunn. There are no Democrats seeking those positions.