Reed, Odom, local judges face no opposition

By ED HOWELL, Daily Mountain Eagle
Posted 2/11/18

Senate Majority Leader Greg Reed, R-Jasper, will face no party opposition in the 2018 elections, and is expected to go back in for another term.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Don't have an ID?

Print subscribers

If you're a print subscriber, but do not yet have an online account, click here to create one.


Click here to see your options for becoming a subscriber.

Reed, Odom, local judges face no opposition


Senate Majority Leader Greg Reed, R-Jasper, will face no party opposition in the 2018 elections, and is expected to go back in for another term.

Reed, Coroner Joey Vick, Circuit Clerk Susan Odom and several local judges woke up Saturday morning to final confirmation that they will only have to face write-in ballots and any possible independent candidate. However, that is usually tantamount to winning re-election as organized write-in and independent candidacies are uncommon.

Others who will not face Republican or Democratic opposition this year will be Circuit Judges Doug Farris and Hoyt Elliott, as well as District Judge Greg Williams. Except for a change in the probate judge’s position, with the retirement of Rick Allison, the news mean the set of judges who sit on the bench in Walker County will remain virtually unchanged. The circuit clerk, which handles much of the paperwork for the local system, will also remain in place.

Reed was the only one of Walker County’s three-person delegation to not face opposition, and it fortified his position as Senate majority leader. Reed is sometimes discussed in political circles for higher office one day.

The wait was longer than usual. Republicans on Friday night finished their process a couple of hours after qualifying closed statewide at 5 p.m. However, the Alabama Democratic Party on Friday night for a while only had an update from the night before. Long after the 5 p.m. deadline, it posted an update dated around 3 p.m. Then updates were posted into the night, adding wording to show the work was incomplete.

The Montgomery Advertiser noted the delays on Twitter.

At one minute to midnight, the party finally posted a statewide list that did not indicate that it was incomplete. That, in turn, settled whether some state candidates would have any opposition.

In Walker County, Vick had been the only race to be determined on the local level not to have a second candidate.

The following candidates are officially listed as being qualified for positions as Democrats and will be on the Walker County ballot in 2018; an (I) indicates an incumbent: 

U.S. House of Representatives, 4th Congressional District - Lee Auman, Rick Neighbors

Governor - Sue Bell Cobb, Christopher A. Countryman, James Fields, Walt Maddox, Doug "New Blue" Smith, Anthony White

Lieutenant Governor - Will Boyd

Attorney General - Chris Christie, Joseph Siegleman

Secretary of State - Lula Albert, Heather Milam

State Auditor - Miranda Joseph

Alabama Supreme Court, Chief Justice - Bob Vance, Jr.

Alabama Supreme Court Associate Justice, Place 4 - Donna Wesson Smalley

The final Republican list appeared in Saturday’s edition of the Daily Mountain Eagle. It is available in the news section of under the story, “Democrats field no local candidates for 2018 election.”