Qualifying for 2020 races ends

Guthrie, Burrough draw no opposition


Several local candidates - including a county commissioner and the long-time revenue commissioner - have no formal opposition for the 2020 elections as the end of the qualifying period came Friday at 5 p.m. for both major political parties. 

Local qualifying ended Friday afternoon with officials from both county Republican and Democratic parties taking last-minute candidate entries at the Walker County Probate Judge's Office in downtown Jasper. 

Officials with the Walker County Democratic Party were not present at the Probate Judge's Office, but Chairman Tim Bowen said a couple of constable candidates qualified, and that U.S. Rep. Robert Aderholt also drew a Democratic candidate from Franklin County, Rick Neighbors.

No confirmation was found on the state Democratic website at press time, as the state website reported form processing was still in progress, with the latest update as of 6:10 p.m. Friday. (Republicans posted their list was final by press time.) Bowen said Neighbors told him Friday that he had successfully qualified. Neighbors ran unsuccessfully for the position in 2012 and 2018, according to ballotpedia.org. 

Aderholt, a Haleyville resident who represents the 4th Congressional District, is running for his 13th two-year term of office.

No other local Democratic qualifying had occurred before mid-week. The lack of Democratic activity has left Republicans pretty much running the process in Walker County, with a few candidates now likely to win, save any independent or write-in challenge.  

Revenue Commissioner Jerry Guthrie, who is running for his fifth, and probably last, six-year term, had no challengers. 

A member of the Walker County Commission, Jeff Burrough of District 2, drew no party opposition. On Thursday night, Martha Parnell Salomaa of Dora qualified to run against District 4 Commissioner Steven Aderholt. District 3 Commissioner Ralph Williams did not qualify for his seat, which drew a crowded field of GOP candidates. 

In addition,  Belinda Palmer McRae, who is running for District 7 of the Alabama State Board of Education, had no GOP opposition. 

Teia Harris, who qualified for her first term as the chairman of the Walker County Board of Education, drew an opponent in the last hour: the incumbent, Brad Ingle. 

The state Democratic website reported Seth L. Diamond qualified for district judge in Walker County. 

Local, area offices

The following is the final updated list of Republican qualified candidates for the state and Walker County 2020 elections, with incumbents signified with (I): 

U.S. House of Representatives, 4th Congressional District: Robert Aderholt (I). 

Alabama State Board of Education, District 7: Belinda Palmer McRae. 

Revenue Commissioner: Jerry Guthrie, 235 Prospect Rd., Nauvoo (I).

Walker County Board of Education, Chairman: Teia Harris, 258 Valleyview Dr., Jasper; Brad Ingle, 4394 Cordova Gorga Rd., Cordova (I). 

Walker County Commission, Chairman: Jerry O. Bishop, 1298 Hickory Hill Lane, Jasper (I); Steven E. Miller, 1978 Hermon Rd., Jasper. 

Walker County Commission, District 1: Keith Davis, 3255 Boardwalk Circle, Jasper (I); John Mark Dutton, 2847 Burrows Crossing Rd., Jasper. (Editor's note: Dutton would withdraw as a Republican candidate days later to run as an independent, leaving Davis the Republican nominee.) 

Walker County Commission, District 2: Jeff Burrough, 544 NE 2nd. St., Carbon Hill (I). 

Walker County Commission, District 3: James C. "Jim" Borden, 570 Gardner's Gin Rd., Cordova; Bobby J. Nunnelley, 910 Blanton Rd., Parrish; Douglas Michael Pate, 64 Pineyridge Rd., Parrish; and R. Jason Richardson, 1540 Manuel Hill Rd., Cordova. 

Walker County Commission, District 4: Steven Aderholt, 174 Maple St., Sumiton (I); Martha Parnell Salomaa, 1195 Sellers Hollow Rd., Dora. 

Circuit Judge, Circuit 14, Place 1: Joletta Martin Barrentine and Christopher A. Sherer (I). 

Walker County District Judge, Place 1: Henry Allred (I) and Sam Bentley. 


Constable, Precinct 1: Terry D. Stripling, 600 Mall Way, Jasper (I). 

Constable, Precinct 2: Joe Thomas, 1501 Lot 4, Brakefield Dairy Rd., Jasper (I). 

Constable, Precinct 3: Tommy Allen Cleghorn, 960 Edgil Grove Rd., Jasper (I). 

Constable, Precinct 4: Donald Alford Frazier, 3511 Lakewood Dr., Jasper (I).

Constable, Precinct 9: Howard O. Anderson, 11602 Highway 62 S., Oakman (I); Charles Sanford, 605 Fruit Jar Rd., Oakman. 

Constable, Precinct 11: Charles Harper, 10550 Highway 269, Parrish (I).

Constable, Precinct 12: James Borden, 1480 Cordova Gorgas Rd., Cordova; Alex Blake Daniel, 33 Crestview Hights Lane, Cordova (I). 

Constable, Precinct 14: Justin Gant, 70 Hunt Rd, Jasper. 

Constable, Precinct 15: Timothy J. Reed, 1065 Old Pineywoods Rd., Lot 8, Jasper (I).

Constable, Precinct 16; Christopher Manning, 115 Higginbotham Rd., Empire (I). 

Constable, Precinct 21: William Jerald Watts, 306 Birchem Loop, Dora (I). 

Constable, Precinct 22: Rodney Bryant II, 181 White St., Parrish. (In the Democratic Party, Chris Craft qualified for Constable, Precinct 22, according to Bowen. Also, Allen Hinds qualified as a Democrat to be constable in Precinct 26.) 

Constable, Precinct 28: Thomas David Grace, 440 TC Grace Rd., Jasper (I). 

Constable, Precinct 31: Raymond Pugh, 90 Northrop Rd., Jasper (I). 

Constable, Precinct 32: Allen Estell, 128 Seven Oaks Dr., Nauvoo. 

Constable, Precinct 33: Ruel Phillips, 44 Stonie Phillips Rd., Empire. 

Constable, Precinct 36: Jeffery A. Nelson, 1173 McCollum Rd., Jasper (I). 

Constable, Precinct 37: Terry Joseph Pickett, 747 Old Dora Rd., Sumiton; Ralph leon Shoemaker, 1732 Main St., Sumiton (I). 

Constable, Precinct 39: Randall Light, 5400 Bird Farm Rd., Jasper (I). 

Constable, Precinct 40: Robert Larry Myers. 153 Slate Creek Rd., Oakman (I). 

Constable, Precinct 44: Larry Chad Odom, 356 Wells Loop, Jasper (I); Albert L. Steadman Jr., 143 Kings Rd., Jasper. 

Constable, Precinct 45: James H. Miller, 1874 Herman Rd., Jasper. 


Other offices

President of the United States: Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente, Donald J. Trump, Bill Weld. (Editor’s note: A separate web page on the state GOP’s website showed a number of candidates for delegate seats at the Republican National Convention are running for Trump.) 

U.S. Senate: Stanley Adair, Bradley Byrne, John H. Merrill, Arnold Mooney, Roy Moore, Ruth Page Nelson, Jeff Sessions and Tommy Tuberville. 

Alabama Supreme Court, Place 1: Greg Shaw (I), Bryan Taylor and Cam Ward.

Alabama Supreme Court, Place 2: Brad Mendheim (I). 

Alabama Court of Civil Appeals: Place 1: William C. "Bill" Thompson (I). 

Alabama Court of Civil Appeals: Place 2: Phillip Bahakel and Matt Fridy. 

Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals: Place 1: Melvin Hasting and Mary Windom (I). 

Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals: Place 2: Jill Ganus, Beth Kellum (I) and Will Smith. 

Public Service Commission, President: Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh (I) and Robin Litaker.  


The following is the list of Democratic qualified candidates for the state and Walker County 2020 elections, updated at 6:10 p.m. before presstime: 

President of the United States: Michael Bennet, Joseph R. Biden, Michael R. Bloomberg, Cory Booker, Steve Bullock, Pete Buttigieg, Julian Castro, John K. Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Kamala Harris, Amy Klobuchar, Bernie Sanders. Joe Sestak, Tom Steyer, Elizabeth Warren, Marianne Williamson and Andrew Yang. 

U.S. Senate: Doug Jones (I)

Public Service Commission President: Laura "lower bills, cleaner air and water" Casey and Robert L. Mardis III. 

Walker County District Judge: Seth L. Diamond.