41 graduate Youth Leadership Walker County

Posted 4/17/19

The 2019 Youth Leadership Walker County class graduated Tuesday.Forty-one students participated in this year's Youth Leadership Walker County, an annual program that teaches leadership qualities and …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Don't have an ID?

Print subscribers

If you're a print subscriber, but do not yet have an online account, click here to create one.


Click here to see your options for becoming a subscriber.

41 graduate Youth Leadership Walker County


The 2019 Youth Leadership Walker County class graduated Tuesday.

Forty-one students participated in this year's Youth Leadership Walker County, an annual program that teaches leadership qualities and helps students learn more about their community. Participants gather one day each month to participate in group projects or travel to a destination that will educate and inspire the future leaders.

Students also work with the Walker Area Community Foundation each year to determine some area nonprofits and organizations that will receive funding from the foundation. Some of this year's chosen recipients are Camp McDowell, Hope House Church, City of Lights Dream Center, Backyard Blessings and Mission of Hope. 

Jasper High School and the Walker County Coalition for the Homeless also received funding to provide electric heaters to the needy.

The grant funding will allow for personal hygiene products to be purchased for those in need, as well as blankets. Parrish Elementary School will also be served through Backyard Blessings, and the City of Lights Dream Center will be able to fund their drug and alcohol treatment program.

Walker County Community Action Agency received a grant as well for their after school and summer programs.

"We appreciate each of you for taking the time to complete our grant application and for all the work you do in our community," Cristy Moody of the Walker Area Community Foundation said to nonprofit representatives at the Youth Leadership Walker County graduation Tuesday. "I think our students really enjoyed getting to see nonprofit organizations that they may not have known about before this opportunity."

As part of graduation day festivities, each group presented a skit to highlight what they had learned in the program. Afterward, students were pinned and presented with certificates of completion.

Walker Area Community Foundation President Paul Kennedy was also pinned Tuesday in recognition for his support of Youth Leadership Walker County.  

The following is a list of Youth Leadership Walker County graduates: Jeffrey Atkins and Destiny Poff of Carbon Hill High School; Kyli Blagburn, Yasmine Chatman, Cameron Frost, Ma'Cayla Partain, Ethan Pickett and Harold Pike of Cordova High School; Coulson Aaron, Laycee Cordell, Abbeygail Moon, Katherine Richardson and Halle Sanders of Curry High School; Alexandria Driver, Ja'Mya Harris, Micah Harrison, Alyssa Lambert and Courtney Stone of Dora High School; Kallie Capkovic, Joseph Lollar, Tristin Lollar, Hannah Manasco, Ella Medders, Cannon Taylor and Isabella Willingham of Oakman High School; Larken Box, William Fanning, Sarah Hadder, Alyssa Hartman, Lauren Little, Emily Parvin, Nicholas Persky, Ivan Reid, John Sheffield, Samuel Shumate and Jeffery Wright of Sumiton Christian School; and Jacob Danner, Claude Bryan, Anna Herring, Maylen Sargent and Harrison Saunders of Jasper High School.

Chamber of Commerce of Walker County President Linda Lewis concluded the program by traditionally sharing a quote from former U.S. Rep. Carl Elliott Sr.

"Have compassion for the poor. Educate the ignorant. Feed the hungry. Guide those who have lost their way. Don't kick a person when they're down," Lewis read. "Heal the wounded. Love those who are least lovable, they need it the most. Warm the cold. Wash the dirty, and water the thirsty."

Youth Leadership Walker County is a partnership between the Chamber of Commerce of Walker County, Bevill State Community College and the Walker Area Community Foundation.  

Lewis, Moody, Cliff Beall, Jonathan Holladay, Jake Sanders and Sarah Allred are listed as Youth Leadership Walker County staff.